Propose Love

Image

 

Have you ever gone to a incredible restaurant and not wanted to tell anyone about it? You loved going there, the food was amazing, the service was top-notch, and the atmosphere was mind-blowing. Kind of like this:

Image

 

Or this:

Image

 

But when people asked you how it was, you responded half-heartedly and didn’t give them a lot of details. Has this ever happened to you? Because that sounds like a strange situation to me. Aside from the fact that I’ve never been to one of those fancy restaurants, I’m pretty sure I would talk about it with my family and friends (and acquaintances) and show them pictures and try to get them to come with me to the restaurant. If it was a really awesome experience, it would probably be a good conversation topic with strangers too.

The reason I bring this up, is not in fact a subtle hint/invitation to go to one of these incredible places (Did it work?), but rather to talk about something else. When was the last time you shared an experience you had with Christ, or a way Christ worked in your life with other people? Why am I so quick to tell everyone about a movie that I just saw that I loved, but I won’t mention a revelation I had in personal prayer that day? When is the last time you intentionally sought someone out for the purpose of bringing them closer to God?

I forget a lot of times that the Church’s main purpose is evangelization. That means that evangelization and mission are not simply left to those who serve a year or two on NET ministry or become an SPO missionary or whose college major is Evangelization and Catechesis. Each and every one of us is called to evangelization.

Image

 

 

I don’t think I fully understood this mission of the Church growing up. I saw my relationship with Christ as very much a “me and Jesus” type of relationship. Yes, I’m supposed to cultivate an intimate friendship with Him, but after being fed and becoming faithful to those truths of Christ’s love and mercy, I’m called to share it and not keep it to myself. Not only because as a member of the Catholic Church I am called to it, but because I want to. Experiencing God in my life every single day is much better than going to an awesome restaurant or a fun party. Why wouldn’t I want to share that with people I meet in my daily life?

 

“This church with which we should be thinking is the home of all, we must not reduce the bosom of the universal church to a nest protecting our mediocrity. 

Obviously, being on mission looks different for everyone, and it looks different at each stage in your life. I am not called to be on mission right now the same as a missionary in Africa is. I was reading an article about evangelizing in daily life and I came across this quote,

“Pope Francis outlines pretty clearly the mission of the Church. We must make a proposition of Jesus to the world. We must propose Love. From this proposition the moral consequences then flow.” Proclamation in a missionary style focuses on the essentials, on the necessary things: this is also what fascinates and attracts more, what makes the heart burn. The proposal of the Gospel must be more simple, profound, radiant. “

In our everyday lives, we should “propose Love” in our thoughts, words, and actions. As someone once wrote, how we spend our days is how we spend our lives. If our daily actions and habits are not centered on Christ, then ultimately our lives won’t be. It is a lot easier to have a mentality of evangelization if you run a youth group or are involved in a ministry team while in college. I’m not there yet, but after graduation I’m guessing it gets harder to intentionally be on mission. But it is a simple as loving and caring for those who God introduces into your path and not being afraid to admit the huge part that He plays in your daily life. If He is so merciful to You, wouldn’t you want others to realize how merciful He is to them?

Image

 

I think we tend to hide behind the maxim, “Preach the Gospel at all times, when necessary, use words.” instead of simply using your actions to hopefully portray your beliefs, I challenge you to use your words. Our primary goal is to get to Heaven, but it is also to bring with us as many people as we can. 
 
What an amazing act of love it is that Christ died for us to live in eternal happiness with Him. Look at a crucifix. This is what Christ did for us. Now what are we going to do about it? 
 
Propose Love.
Image
 
Leave a Reply

