Touches of Beauty

Image

Today is turning out to be an absolutely delightful day. Not only is it nearing the end of an incredibly blessed week, but we received a (slightly expected, much prayed for) snow day! It was so fun to see the absolute pure happiness on all of our faces at our house this morning when we got the text. “Giddy” would definitely be an appropriate word to describe us, along with a majority of this campus.

I’m sure God delighted in the rejoicing hearts of those college students who braved the snow to go to Mass this morning. I realized walking back from Mass how beautiful it was to see how quiet our little corner of the world is. All of our busy-ness has stopped for the moment and we are blessed with the gift of time: to relax, to catch up on homework, to rid ourselves of stress, and to rejoice in God who gives all good things.

Sitting down with a steaming cup of coffee, I decided to share a few things from my life in the past few weeks that have made me happy. Little touches of beauty throughout my daily life that make me stop and thank God for his pure and perfect knowledge of me and what delights me.

1. Valentine’s Day

Image

Valentine cards can be so creative – I love how unique each one is!

On the risk of being called a hippie (ahem…you know who you are) I’ve decided I absolutely love Valentine’s Day. Yes, a single woman loves this holiday. I also do not like how it is assumed, and even encouraged, that if you aren’t in a relationship then you probably will spend this holiday drowning your sorrows in chocolate chip cookie dough and talking with your other single lady friends about how stupid men are. Don’t get me wrong, I would be fine with the cookie dough part (aside from the fact that it is Lent…) but I think men are pretty fantastic, and there are so many other types of love aside from romantic love that we can celebrate on this day.

Also, later in the evening my housemates and I were sitting around the kitchen table doing homework when we heard men shouting and a drum and guitar…Outside our house. Yes, about 12 men of the SPO houses were outside, with roses, and waited for us to open the door and proceeded to serenade us with their rendition of “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough.” Brownie points for them!

Image

The ladies of the other SPO house left us a surprise on our porch – hand sewn owls that you can stick in the microwave to warm up!

2. Creme Petite – authentic Brie with Wheat Thins

Image

This is the swiss cheese wedges, but they are just as good as the brie ones!

It’s really the simple things in life that add up, like this new snack that I have a newfound love for! They are tasty, healthy-ish, and they come in cute little wedges! I’m pretty sure the dang packaging is what draws me to these. Marketing people really know their stuff.

3. The Temptations, Lone Bellow, and Little Women Soundtrack

Music can really speak straight to the heart, or even express what your heart can not. For me, there are some songs that I could listen to over and over again, and I do (ask my housemates…). The song, “My Girl” by the Temptations is one song that never fails to make me happy, even if I’m in the worst of moods. It is also the song that my friend and I decided to spontaneously sing at karaoke while we were at a restaurant. I have a clip of it, but I’m sure that you wouldn’t be interested in it ;). A friend recently introduced me to The Lone Bellow, and I fell in love! They are a great band which you should check out if you get the chance. And of course the Little Women soundtrack, which keeps me company while studying – such beautiful instrumental music!

4. Cute Baby Animals

On risk of judgement, I had to include this. Those who know me know that I would not be considered an animal lover, but Pinterest has come up with way too many cute animals for me not to take delight in them.

Image

Exhibit A. This baby koala fits in a coffee cup. A COFFEE CUP!

Image

Exhibit B. This one needs no explanation. What a fine piece of art.

5. Daily Odd Compliment

Image

Have you been on this website? Because it is hilarious. And I love it. I feel like so many of them are applicable to so many of my friendships. While we’re on the subject of friendships, can I say how blessed I am to have such incredible friends? In all honesty, I have a beautiful, loving, quirky family at home, I have the most wonderful friends as well back in Minnesota that I would absolutely consider family, and I have friends here, in Kansas where we have formed another family. I would consider my friendships with all of these people inherently life-giving; each and every one is a blessing in my life. As a dear friend told me once, “you make my heart content.” What can I not conquer when I have Christ and these amazing people by my side? Nothing. Except maybe my impending Accounting homework.

2 thoughts on “Touches of Beauty

  1. Miriam, I absolutely love the way you write and capture all of the little things in life. The quote, funny…the animals, beautiful and hearing about your friends is a wonderful glimpse into your life. Thanks for sharing!!!

  2. I am happy to be part of your quirky family. And I love the hedgehog picture – I have a secret love of hedgehogs (hmmm maybe not so secret) and I’m excited to be reading Mia adorable children’s books about hedgehogs and umbrellas and all sorts of wonderful cozy things again! Gorgeous Valentines too!

Leave a comment