La Vita Bella

Image

“That pleasure which is at once the most pure, the most elevating and the most intense is derived, I maintain, from the contemplation of the beautiful.”
~Edgar Allan Poe

I apologize that my titles are sometimes in a different language, not that I actually know the language, but Google translate is addicting…

There is something so beautiful though, about a particular phrase in another language. For instance: La vita bella – Life is beautiful. This week God has blessed me with some wonderful gifts, and I know that if I don’t share them then I will quickly forget them in the chaos of a particularly stressful day.

Do you ever have those weeks when you are taken by surprise by how well it goes, even though last week the same things happened and it made you question every single decision you’ve ever made? Well that is me, and this week all I can say is that I have been filled with peace. Despite being in circumstances that would typically stress me out, I have been filled with joy. I am at peace with where I am, who I am, and what I am doing. God is an unbelievable encourager. It is amazing the people He has given me at this time in my life – I desire nothing that He has not already given me.

The well known verse, “Delight in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart” was explained to me in a different light and I’ve been thinking about it recently. Yes, I’m with you, I would much rather think that God will give me everything I ask for, like a yacht and a llama, but I digress. Instead, take it to mean: delight in the Lord, and He will place His desires in your heart.

This week, I have felt the warm sunshine of God’s love on my heart and it has given me boldness to accept all that He is asking of me, because ultimately His desires are my desires. God is a generous and abundant giver, delighting in us in every moment of every day, even if we don’t take the time to notice. And today I feel it, today was a day filled with easy classes, a beautiful snowfall (which, in hindsight, I probably could have appreciated more), morning prayer with some lovely ladies, coffee (with creamer, of course), no pressing homework, catching up with family, and to finish the day, a bubble bath. For me, it was a reminder that God wants us to be happy, not simply in Heaven but here on earth as well.

Delight in the Lord, because He absolutely delights in you.

There is a prayer that I love written by Frederick Buechner that I recently read and I would like to share it with you.

Lord, catch me off guard today.

Surprise me with some moment of beauty or pain,

So that at least for the moment

I may be startled into seeing

That You are here in all your splendor,

Always and everywhere,

Barely hidden,

Beneath,

Beyond,

Within this life I breathe.

Leave a Reply

